View From The Bleachers

Talking Cubs Baseball Since 2003



October 2005



Arizona Fall League

Written by , Posted in General

A few days ago, the Cubs released the names of the players who would represent them in the Arizona Fall League. Those players are:
Matt Murton – OF
Buck Coats – SS
Eric Patterson – 2b
Brandon Sing – 1b
David Aardsma – RP
Angel Guzman – SP
John Koronka – SP

In case you are not familiar with the AFL, here is the breakdown of how it works, taken directly fron the AFL website.

Eligibility Rules

The eligibility rules to play in the AFL are simple.

The roster size is 30 players per team.

Each Major League organization is required to provide six players subject to the following requirements:

* All Triple-A and Double-A players are eligible, provided the players are on at least a Double-A level roster no later than Aug. 1.
* One player below the Double-A level is allowed per Major League team.
* One foreign player is allowed, as long as the player does not reside in a country that participates in winter ball, as part of the Caribbean Confederation or the Australian winter league.
* No players with more than one year of credited Major League service as of August 31 are eligible, except a team may select one player picked in the most recently concluded Major League Rule 5 Draft.
* To be eligible, players on Minor League disabled lists must be activated at least 45 days before the conclusion of their respective seasons.

Hall of Fame


Nomar Garciaparra
The Boston Red Sox shortstop played for the Scottsdale Scorpions in 1994. He went on to win the American League Rookie of the Year Award in 1997, and won batting titles in 1999 and 2000.

Derek Jeter
The Yankee shortstop and captain played in the 1994 AFL season for the Chandler Diamondbacks and won the AL Rookie of the Year Award in 1996. He won both the All-Star Game and World Series MVP Awards in 2000.

Mike Piazza
Piazza was a part of the first AFL class, in 1992, playing for the Sun City Solar Sox. He became the first of 10 AFL alumni to win Rookie of the Year honors, earning the NL award in 1993. The perennial All-Star won the Midsummer Classic’s MVP Award in 1996.

Dusty Baker
The first manager enshrined in the AFL Hall of Fame, Baker got his managerial feet wet with the Scottsdale Scorpions in 1992. The following year he took the helm of the San Francisco Giants, the team he guided to the 2002 World Series before leaving to take over the Chicago Cubs.


Jason Giambi
Giambi played on the 1994 AFL champion Peoria Javelinas. He has gone on to win the AL MVP in 2000 with the Oakland A’s and wsa just the ninth player in MLB history to increase his batting average in six or more consecutive seasons.

Jerry Manuel
Managing in 1994, Manuel led Maryvale to an Eastern Division crown. He served as Felipe Alou’s third base coach from 1991-96, then was Jim Leyland’s bench coach on the 1997 World Series-winning Florida Marlins. He took over as the Chicago White Sox’ skipper in 1998.


Shawn Green
Green spent time with the Scottsdale Scorpions in 1993. He spent his first full season in the majors in 1995 and has since gone to two All-Star Games, won a Gold Glove and hit 40+ homers three times.

Todd Helton
Helton played for Peoria in 1996. He finished second to Kerry Wood in NL Rookie of the Year voting and has hit well over .300 ever season in his career, driving in 100 or more runs for five consecutive seasons.

Mike Scioscia
Scioscia skippered the Peoria Javelinas to a championship in 1997. The team set an AFL record with a .317 batting average and led the AFL that season in ERA. After one season of managing in the Pacific Coast League in 1999, Scioscia took over as manager of the Anaheim Angels in 2000, leading them to a World Series Championship in 2002.


Garret Anderson
Anderson played for the 1993 Tempe Rafters as a standout outfielder. In 2003, Anderson became the first player ever to win the Home Run Derby and All-Star Game Most Valuable Player at the same Midsummer Classic. He also led the Angels to the 2002 World Series Championship.

Albert Pujols
Pujols played for the 2000 Scottsdale Scorpions as a stellar third baseman. He has been selected to the Major League All-Star Game multiple times and has finished in the top five in voting for the National League Most Valuable Player voting in each of his first four seasons.

Tony Peña
Peña managed the Maryvale Saguaros club in 2000. The team was comprised of top prospects from the Astros, Brewers, Expos, Phillies and Yankees organizations. In 2003, Peña was named the American League Manager of the Year as skipper of the Kansas City Royals.


Troy Percival
Percival pitched for the 1992 Scottsdale Scorpions as a stellar closer. He holds the distinction of being the first former AFL pitcher to record over 300 saves at the Major League level. Percival is the first former AFL pitcher elected to the AFL Hall Of Fame.

Terry Francona
Francona has served the AFL twice: First as a Coach of the 1992 Grand Canyon Rafters and his second stint as Field Manager of the 1994 Scottsdale Scorpions. His 1994 Scottsdale team showcased notable players such as Nomar Garciaparra, Joe Randa, Michael Tucker and Michael Jordan.